Aside

Happy Thanksgiving

“Kate Teacher, we must teach Grade 6 about Thanksgiving.”

“Uhm, ok. They just say ‘thanks’ and eat turkey with their family. Right?”

“Huh? You don’t know? You have no Thanksgiving?”

And the answer to that is: No. I’ve never celebrated, or even thought much about Thanksgiving, being South African and all. But living in Korea all nationalities adopt the holidays of their fellow expats, so I decided to write a post about what I am thankful for. And saying ‘thanks’ and acknowledging what is good in your life is never a bad thing, so here I go!

There is so much, I hardly know where to start. I suppose with my family and friends. I mean, if we didn’t have family and friends in our lives we’d be pretty miserable, right? I am thankful for their love and support. For their listening ears and wise (mostly) words.

I am thankful that I am living in Korea and that I have a job that, for 90% of the time, I love.

I am thankful that the biggest concerns in my life are ‘What size backpack should I buy?’ and ‘How long should I stay in Thailand for?’

I am thankful that I am inside, on my laptop, in my bed, with my heating on.

I am thankful that I will be eating a delicious Thanksgiving meal on Saturday!

I am thankful for my health, my education, the opportunities that I have had and the fact that I have options for my future.

So, yip, a lot to say thank you for! I wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving.

3 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. I am American, and it always cracked me up a bit when the Korean staff at our hagwag told the Canadian teachers to teach the kids a Fourth of July song or have them make turkey hand cutouts for Thanksgiving. Ah, international living 🙂 Hope you enjoy stuffing yourself on Saturday!

    • Haha. Even after working in my current school for close to a year some people are still surprised that I’m not American!
      I hope you are having a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend.

  2. Yes my darling Kate – you and all of us do have LOTS to be greatful for.Mostly I am greatful for four wonderful kids and the love and joy(mostly!!!) they have brought us,And of course the rest of our family and friends.I can’t even begin to imagine life without family and friends XX Lets start thanksgiving in SA – no turkey though- a BRAAI!!!!
    XXXX

Leave a Reply

