Hello world!

Hello World! Indeed.

My name is Kate Robey and this is my blog. Imagine that, my very own blog!

I feel overwhelmed by the whole thing to be honest and have been thinking long and hard about what would be a wonderful, witty and brilliant way to start this blog. I still don’t really know, but I am going ahead and doing it anyway, brilliantly or not!

So I guess I should tell you what this whole blog is about and why I have launched it? Well simply, I am on a journey and I would like you to come on that journey with me.

My journey started many years ago, when I was a 17-year-old recent high school graduate standing in Cape Town International Airport about to leave for Australia. I was scared as hell. I cried and thought I was making the most stupid mistake of my life. But I went anyway and I am so glad that I did. In that year in Australia I learnt so many things, among them how to: use a washing machine, party like a wild Australian university student, keep an eye on mischievous school girls (not as successful as the partying thing), ‘plan’ a trip and write an email back home. It shaped me in many ways and propelled me on this current journey.

I am now living in South Korea teaching English to a bunch of elementary school children. For the most part it is something that I really enjoy, and for the least part it is something that I am doing as a means to travel further.

The process of planning the onward journey is in full swing, and man is it overwhelming and incredibly exciting. This blog will largely be a platform for me to plan my trip, and hopefully, by default, help you plan your own adventure, or at least get some inspiration. As well as that I hope to keep you entertained and coming back for more with weird and wonderful stories of Korea and everything in between.

Bye for now, Kate x

 

5 responses to “Hello world!

  1. chaucergeoffrey

    Blogging is a great way to keep a log of your travels 🙂

    Keep up the good work!

  2. we all think you are great .Happy planning and blogging .
    XXXXX

  3. we think you’re great too…love the Gafney’s (sunny lunch in the garden on womans day, thinking of you) x

  4. we all KNOW you’re great, Kate.
    and that i’ll never be a poet.

Leave a Reply

